Twenty Something Twenty Everything

Ok, I don’t know about you, but I often find myself questioning every aspect of my life – relationships, am I working in the right place?, should I be living where I am?, or move back to be by family?, why am I not more successful?, should I be taking advantage of this time in my life to travel?  Life in your twenties is a lot more difficult than I thought it would be – I thought I would be engaged, planning a wedding, looking for a house, in my dream job, saving up money to have kids and for a honeymoon.  Boy was I wrong.  I have a lot of friends in the same boat – a lot of friends struggling with the pressures of being a twenty something woman in the twenty-first century.  It is a lot different from our grandparents and even parents – we are expected to be independent, but also in a relationship, working a successful and profitable job, all while remaining close to our friends and family.  It is a lot. 

I was browsing around Barnes and Noble one day and came across the book Twenty Something Twenty Everything.  Just reading the synopsis, I knew I had to buy this book and read it –  “Is your life not working out like you expected? Do you sense that nothing is dreadfully wrong, but nothing feels quite right either? Done everything you were “supposed to do” but still do not feel fulfilled?  This book is for you. Faced with a career she worked hard to achieve but didn’t like and the disintegration of her relationship; author Christine Hassler talked to other women and discovered a pattern. Many women in their twenties (and thirties) feel unsettled and struggle to reassess their positions on what Christine calls the “Twenties Triangle:” Who am I? What do I want? How do I get it? ”

The book walks you through every aspect of your life and gives you exercises that assist in your understanding and relating the chapters directly to your life.  I have to be honest, I didn’t do every exercise, but definitely can appreciate their purpose and chose to participate in those I felt would be beneficial.  I don’t recommend many books, but I can honestly say this was extremely helpful – if for nothing else, to realize I am not the only person that feels this way.

Leave a Reply

